Delegation from the Election Commission of India reviewed the preliminary arrangements for the Assembly Elections – 2022

Publish Date : 21/10/2021
Deputy Election Commissioner Visited Rupnagar

Delegation from the Election Commission of India reviewed the preliminary arrangements for the Assembly Elections – 2022

Rupnagar, October 21:

Deputy Election Commissioner Mr. Nitesh Kumar Vyas and Chief Electoral Officer Mr. S. Karuna Raju, Punjab on Thursday visited, District Rupnagar to review the arrangement being made for Assembly elections-2022.

Presiding over the meeting, the Deputy Election Commissioner directed that in view of the Assembly elections-2022, all eligible young voters should soon be registered so that the young voters could participate and discharge their responsibilities in these elections. Details should be obtained from the Departments of Education and Health in this regard to enroll all voters.

Stressing on the importance of training, he said that BLOs (Booth Level Officers) should be sensitized concerning to elections duty in a stipulated time. Concerned officers should personally visit all the polling booths and ensure necessary arrangements should be made at all polling booths. He also said that an awareness campaign should be launched to actively involve the voters in the elections.

Mr. Nitish Kumar Vyas further said that all the BLOs in the district should download the necessary applications related to the Election Commission of India on their mobile phones so that any information issued by the Election Commission of India could be received immediately.

He asked the officers present in the meeting to provide all the information to the voters through Voter Helpline No. 1950 and resolve every grievance immediately. He also directed the police department to pay special attention to the sensitive booths during the elections so that no untoward incident could take place during the elections.

The Election Commission of India delegation also inspected polling stations at the Government College Rupnagar and reviewed the first level of EVMs. Mr. Nitesh Kumar Vyas also encouraged the students of Government College to cast their votes.

He also inspected the newly constructed EVM Warehouse. During the visit, he held discussions with the Supervisors / BLOs regarding the forthcoming elections.

District Election Officer-cum-Deputy Commissioner Rupnagar Mrs. Sonali Giri, SSP Rupnagar Mr. Vivek S. Soni, SDM Anandpur Sahib Mr. Keshav Goel, SDM Rupgunar Mr. Gurwinder Singh, SDM Chamkaur Sahib Mr. Paramjit Singh, Assistant Commissioner (Grievances) Mr. Dipankar Garg, DSP Mr. Virenderjit Singh, DSP Mr. Ucee Chawla, Tehsildar Election Mr. Avtar Singh and Senior Officers were present in this meeting.